top of page
  • Writer's pictureChristiana

Polar Bear Plunge

Has it really been six months since I last posted? And what a six months it has been. It seems like the whole world has turned inside out and upside down. The truth is, I've thought about blogging many times in recent days, but I just wasn't sure what to say. What do I have to add to the conversation that is timely, sympathetic, and most of all, encouraging?


Times are tough. People are struggling in so many areas. The words I have and the emotions I feel seem inadequate. Yes, I've struggled badly these last few months, my anxiety at an all time high. But so many people have it so much worse.


And what does any of this have to do with writing? This is supposed to be a writing blog. So for all these reasons I've stayed silent. Put off getting back to blogging for another day.


But I think I'm beginning to realize that there isn't going to be a good time to ease back into it. Maybe I just have to take the polar bear plunge and dive in, even though the waters are frigid, and possibly no one is around to take notice or even care. Maybe I just have to break the ice and write for myself. Do what I've always done best and work my feelings out on the page.


There is a quote by Joan Didion that goes, "I write entirely to find out what I'm thinking, what I'm looking at, what I see and what it means. What I want and what I fear." Those words have always rung true deep within my soul. Often I don't know how I feel about something until I see it tattooed across the page in front of me. My left hand seems to have a direct tap in to my heart.


I can't let my fear of not knowing the right thing to say keep me from writing. Maybe I need to just start and figure it out along the way. Maybe I don't have to have all the answers right at this moment. Maybe it's a process that won't begin until I take that leap.


So just like a polar bear plunge, I'm going to keep this short. A quick dip into the ice-cold waters. Stop stressing and just do it. Get it over with and shake it off.


If you've been putting off getting back to writing because you also feel lost and insignificant, consider this my reaching out a hand to you. Take it, and let's do this plunge together.


Hopefully it will be reinvigorating for us both.




38 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page